A selection of  opportunities for short form writers.

Birdcatcher Books 4th Annual Short Story Competition

First prize $250, Second prize $100, Third prize $50.

Entry $8 for 1 story, $15 for  2 stories, $21 for 3 stories.

Best entries published in an anthology.

Details at http://birdcatcherbooks.com/competitions/

The Australasian Association of Writing Programs

AAWP/ASSF Emerging Writers’ Short Story Prize, closing 31 May 2018

Celebrate the craft of writing at the Australian Short Story Festival. Be welcomed into the thriving community of writers within the AAWP. Enter your short story and take advantage of this generous publication pathway and networking opportunity for emerging writers.


Date: Friday, June 15, 2018 (All day)

The 2018 ESU Roly Sussex Short Story Award is a prestigious Australian literary award, established by the ESU Queensland Branch in 2015.

The competition is named after Professor Roly Sussex, Emeritus Professor of Applied Language Studies at the University of Queensland. Professor Sussex is a leading expert on the meaning and origin of words and phrases and the evolution of the English language. Professor Sussex attracts a wide audience to his ABC Radio program, A Word in Your Ear, which has run for 15 years.

The Short Story Award is designed to foster original creative writing of outstanding quality, including experimental, challenging or thought provoking work. The Competition commenced in 2015 and attracts entries from all over Australia.

First Prize $7500
Second Prize: $1500Length: Max 3000 words

Submitted stories should not have been previously published.
Eligibility for Open Section: Australian citizens, except those related to the judges or members of the Executive of the English Speaking Union in any State.

Address for Submission by email: info@anngarmsgifts.com.au(link sends e-mail)

Click here for the Entry Form(link is external)


Date: Thursday, August 23, 2018 (All day)

The Elyne Mitchell Writing Awards for 2018 will be open from 01 January 2018 to 23 August 2018. This is our 10th year and the entries grow in number each year. We have included all Australian writers and for the past 2 years we also have included all New Zealand writers, who have an interest in Australasian rural experiences. Our 2018 theme is ‘Reach for the Stars – Strive for Excellence’. We are expecting lots of uplifting stories this year, both fiction and non-fiction.
The Elyne Mitchell Writing Award commemorates the celebrated author of the Silver Brumby’s life and work, and has been established to encourage all writers to focus their stories on the Australasian rural landscape.
For entry forms, please visit our website: www.elynemitchell.com(link is external)

Date: Friday, August 31, 2018 (All day)

Entries are open for the Aesthetica Creative Writing Award 2018. Celebrating excellence in contemporary writing and new work, the Creative Writing Award is a platform for emerging or established poets and writers to showcase their work to an international audience.

The award has two categories for entry; Poetry and Short Fiction, and there are no limitations on themes or subject matters. Works previously published are also accepted and you may enter as many times as you wish.

Creative Writing Award Prizes include:

  • £1000 for each winner (Poetry and Short Fiction)
  • Publication in the ‘Aesthetica Creative Writing Annual’
  • Consultation with Redhammer (Short Fiction Winner)
  • Full Membership to The Poetry Society (Poetry Winner)
  • One year subscription to ‘Granta’
  • Selection of books courtesy of Bloodaxe and Vintage

Poetry entries should be no more than 40 lines and Short Fiction entries should be no more than 2000 words.